6 Reasons Why Working Out is Totally Worth It

I am not athletic. Okay, well I was a little athletic during high school, but that was ages ago. I go through spurts of time when I feel motivated and on fire and ready to work out and eat healthy everyday. Those spurts of motivation are usually followed by months of sitting on the couch eating cookies and binge-watching Grey’s for the hundredth time.

I lost twenty pounds over the summer by eating healthy and exercising a few times a week.   Now it’s October and I haven’t been to the gym in about two months. First my excuse was that I got transferred to a new store for work and now the drive to the gym was too far out of the way. Then my excuse was that I got my wisdom teeth out and couldn’t exercise. Now my excuse is that… I don’t feel like it?

Well, this morning I finally got off my lazy butt and took my puppy for a jog. And you know what? That’s all it took to break me out of my slump. When I got back from the jog I felt energized and i wasn’t ready to stop working out. So I did yoga outside in the sunshine. Then I made myself a healthy breakfast of eggs instead of chocolate chip pancakes. One little jog was able to spark my motivation to live a healthy lifestyle again.

So here’s a little list of motivation for those of us non-athletes who need it.

1. Working out is customizable. You can do whatever you want! Working out doesn’t have to be scary and hard- it can be as fun as you make it, as long as you’re working hard enough to feel it. If you can’t make it to the gym, or if the gym just isn’t for you, work out at home! There are so many workout videos on YouTube– yoga, pilates, kickboxing, Zumba–find one that you love and go for it! Do you love to swim? See if your local school’s pool has open swim nights. Do what you like, make it fun, and then working out won’t feel so hard.

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-2-18-42-pm

2. It’s a good way to spend time with friends. One of my favorite things to do is go on Yoga dates with my best friend. Having a friend to work out with can help you stay motivated, make the time go by faster, and make your workout more enjoyable.

fullsizeoutput_43f

3. Working out gives you energy. A good workout should leave you feeling invigorated, not drained. It’s the perfect way to start your day or get a little pick-me-up in the middle of a long day. For me, working out boosts my productivity for the rest of the day; I feel ready to take on anything.

IMG_6160

4. You get to eat yummy recovery snacks. After a good workout, your body needs to refuel itself. Bananas with Nutella, protein shakes, or pretty much anything that makes your body feel good. My personal favorite is apples with almond butter.

img_0366

5. You get see exactly what your body can do. Our bodies are amazing creations, and they are built to be able to do incredible things. So push yourself to your limits as you discover what you’re capable of! We were made made to be able to do so much more than just sit on the couch.

fullsizeoutput_445

6. You’ll feel incredibly proud of yourself afterwards. Whether you ran half a mile or 5 miles, you’ll have something to be proud of when you’re done! You treated your body well and did something good for yourself! You are making good choices. You are fearless, strong, and healthy.

img_0296

 

 

Leave a Reply

